KTM 1090 Adventure Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently took ownership of a 2018 KTM 1090 R and have noticed almost immediately that when shifting through the gears it feels a bit clunky or at least very pronounced. Is this something anyone else has experienced? I've been riding all sorts of bikes for 20 years, so I'm not new to riding scene, but it just feels different than any other bike before.

I'm hoping if anything this is just a break in phase. Any help would be appreciated.

Currently have 120 miles on bike.

·
Registered
158 Posts
Mine does the same, my Ducati was similar as well. There’s also a lot of noise when idling in neutral with the clutch out...just a really stout gear set.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Are you using clutch or no clutch when shifting jam20ster? Mine's at 6000kms & I'd say it has "smoothened" a little, but I shift no clutch up & down when on the pegs on dirt, but usually clutch sitting (a habit I suppose) especially on the road. The gearbox has to be big/strong enough to handle the power & torque of this engine so I have no problem if it does feel a little clunky. KTM gearboxes are not known for breaking.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I’m using clutch. I have yet to off-road bike. When I ride my 450 sxf I rarely use clutch. This bike so far I have used clutch 100% of the time though. If this is normal I can get used to it, but definitely a first for me.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Just put 340 miles on 1090 today. I’m either getting used to the shifting or it seems to be getting better. I’ll continue to monitor and give updates. Should be hitting when 620 mile first service soon.

·
Registered
7 Posts